Russia allows Filipinos to apply for e-visa starting 2021

Russia allows Filipinos to apply for e-visa starting 2021

MANILA – The Philippines is included among 53 countries eligible to apply for Russia’s new e-visa program, which allows holders to enter and travel to more destinations.

“Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed a directive approving a list of countries whose citizens can apply for e-visas. The list comprises the 52 countries, including the Philippines, whose citizens could apply for an e-visa during the pilot stage of the project,” the Russian embassy in Manila said in an announcement dated October 8.

In 2017, a similar e-visa project was launched but with certain restrictions. It only allowed e-visa holders to enter Russia through checkpoints in the Far Eastern Federal District, St. Petersburg and the Leningrad and Kaliningrad regions. They were likewise barred to travel outside these regions.

The new e-visa policy, effective starting 2021, broadens travel across Russia.

“Foreigners can enter via the specially equipped checkpoints anywhere in the country and travel throughout Russia. In addition to this, the duration of a stay for foreigners has been extended from eight to 16 days,” the embassy said.

“Starting from 2021, Filipinos will have an easy way to visit Russia,” it added. E-visas will be issued online for tourism, business, humanitarian, and guest trips.

According to the embassy, applicants do not need an invitation, hotel booking, or any other documents to confirm their reasons for travel. The consular fee is USD40 but free for children aged under six. (PNA)

Leave a Reply