All systems go for POC election on Friday

All systems go for POC election on Friday

By Kyle Encarnacion 

MANILA — A total of 54 voting members including 51 national sports association (NSA) heads are set to cast their votes and decide on the fate of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) for the next four years.

Election in the country’s sport governing body is set this Friday, 27th of November at the East Ocean Restaurant in Pasay City.

Everything has been set-up, so to speak, including the protocols approved accordingly by the Inter-Agency Task Force, Department of Health, and the local government units.

The activity will require NSA representatives to register at 10 a.m. followed immediately by Covid-19 testing, which is estimated all done by 1:30 p.m.  Voting starts shortly after.

Meantime, the counting of the ballots is set at 3:30 p.m. followed by the declaration of the winners at 4:30 p.m. A press conference is set at 5 p.m.

Earlier, the election committee chaired by Atty. Teodoro Kalaw IV said they were able to finalize the list of voters as there were no more questions raised on the eligibility of the voting NSAs.

Lawn Tennis, which was suspended by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) on Tuesday, could still cast their votes as it was not suspended by its mother organization and the POC General Assembly.

Incumbent POC president and cycling chief Abraham Tolentino is seeking his first re-election against Clint Aranas of Archery.

Four NSAS, particularly Philippine Canoe-Kayak Federation (PCKF), Philippine Football Federation (PFF), Philippine Skating Union (PSU), and Pilipinas Sambo Federation (PSF) had availed sealed balloting as did Olympics silver medalist Hidilyn Diaz, who is representing the Athletes Commission and is out of the country, also availed of the process. 

The Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI) headed by Joey Romasanta had some resistance from rival group, the Philippine Volleyball Federation of (PVF) but got the nod in the end.

Mikee Cojuangco-Jaworski and Ormoc City Mayor Richard Gomez will cast their votes twice.

Cojuangco-Jaworski has two votes being International Olympic Committee (IOC) representative to the Philippines and equestrian president.

Gomez, on the other hand, is president of fencing and modern pentathlon. (AI/MTVN)

Leave a Reply