Ray-Ray Parks still on track for best player award

Ray-Ray Parks still on track for best player award

MANILA – TNT Tropang Giga swingman Ray-Ray Parks remains on top of the statistical points race for the PBA Philippine Cup Best Player of the Conference (BPC) award following the tabulation until the recently concluded finals, as revealed on Tuesday.

Parks, who missed the last three games of the Tropang Giga’s championship series against Barangay Ginebra due to a calf injury, got an average of 38.2 statistical points, way ahead of Phoenix Fuel Master Calvin Abueva, who has 37.1. 

Terrafirma’s CJ Perez is third with 35.7, while Abueva’s teammate Matt Wright is slightly ahead of Parks’ comrade RR Pogoy for fourth with 35.65 compared to the latter’s 35.64.

As clarified by Commissioner Willie Marcial recently, the BPC but not the Most Valuable Player will be awarded in a special rite sometime in January.

Three Ginebra players also made the Top 10.

Stanley Pringle is in sixth with 34.8 statistical points, Japeth Aguilar is eighth with 32.9, and Scottie Thompson is ninth with 32.8.

Rounding out the Top 10 are NorthPort’s Chris Standhardinger (seventh with 34.6 statistical points) and Phoenix’s Jason Perkins (10th with 32.7).

The Top 10 have an inside track of making the “Special Five”, a mini version of the Mythical Five that will be awarded also next month.

Meanwhile, the Dyip’s Roosevelt Adam remains the top rookie in the stats race with 20.3 statistical points, but Meralco Bolt Aaron Black (second with 17.3) and the Barangay’s Arvin Tolentino (fifth with 15.5) have a good shot at winning the Rookie of the Year award after their teams made a long playoff run. (PNA)

Leave a Reply