6,500 indigents from Tarlac 1st District receive early Xmas treat from Rep. Cojuangco

6,500 indigents from Tarlac 1st District receive early Xmas treat from Rep. Cojuangco

Members of the COC Foundation Inc. unloads the bags of Christmas gifts from Representative Carlos O. Cojuangco (photo above) to indigent residents of Paniqui, Tarlac during the distribution event held at the Paniqui Town Auditorium last Wednesday, 16 December 2020. 

Glen S. Ramos/Benjamin F. Cuaresma

PANIQUI, Tarlac — Some 6,500 indigents from the first district of Tarlac Province were given an early Christmas gift last Wednesday (December 16, 2020) that includes a variety of grocery items packed for Noche Buena and a number of face masks and face shields for protection against the Covid-19 virus.

The donations were given by Representative Carlos O. Cojuangco of the First District of Tarlac through his Carlos O. Cojuangco Foundation, Inc., a charity institution which he also established that provides assistance to the marginalized residents of Tarlac.

According to ABC President Linda Manuel, there are about 735 indigents residing in the 35 barangays. “They were identified and listed by the local chief executives who are also in-charge of the delivery of the gift packages in the respective areas.”

Paniqui Municipal Mayor Leonardo M. Roxas who joined the event express his gratitude to Cong. Cojuangco for the assistance.

“Kami ay nagpapasalamat kay Cong. Charlie Cojuangco sa patuloy na pagseserbisyo para sa unang distrito. At sa kanyang pagmamahal sa bayan ng Paniqui sa pamamagitan ng pamimigay ng pamaskong handog para sa mga indigent citizen dito sa aming bayan,” [GA1] Roxas said in an interview.

The barangay officials including the recipients also extended their gratitude and support to Cojuangco through a video message that will be compiled and sent to his office.

The distribution of Christmas gift packs was held at the Paniqui Plaza Auditorium at the town proper.

Representative Cojuangco was not able to attend the event due to a previous equally important engagement.

The first district of Tarlac consists of 10 municipalities located on the northern part of the province which includes Anao, Camiling, Mayantoc, Moncada, Paniqui, Pura, Ramos, San Clemente, San Manuel and Santa Ignacia. (AI/MTVN)

Leave a Reply