Rains continue across Luzon as TD Vicky crosses Palawan

Rains continue across Luzon as TD Vicky crosses Palawan

MANILA — Parts of Luzon continue to experience rains due to the combined effects of tail-end of a frontal system and Tropical Depression (TD) Vicky, the weather bureau said Saturday night.

In its 11 p.m. bulletin, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said “Vicky” was last seen 80 km. northwest of Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, moving northwestward at 25 kph.

The TD now packs a maximum sustained winds of 55 kph near the center, and gustiness of up to 85 kph.

Moderate to heavy, with at times intense rains will prevail over mainland Cagayan Valley, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Aurora, Quezon, Bicol Region, and the northern portion of Palawan, including Calamian and Kalayaan Islands. 

Light to moderate with at times heavy rains will be experienced over Babuyan Islands, the rest of Cordillera Administrative Region, Bulacan, Metro Manila, the rest of Calabarzon, and the rest of Mimaropa.

Tropical cyclone wind signal (TCWS) no. 1 is still hoisted over the northern and central portions of Palawan (Araceli, Dumaran, Taytay, El Nido, San Vicente, Roxas, Puerto Princesa City, Aborlan, Narra, Quezon, Sofronio Espanola) including Calamian, Cuyo, and Kalayaan Islands thay will experience strong breeze to near gale conditions and rough seas.

The northeast monsoon will also cause gusty conditions over most parys of Luzon, especially in coastal and mountainous areas.

Rough to very rough seas is expected over the entire seaboards of northern Luzon, the entire seaboards of central Luzon, the eastern seaboard of Quezon, including Polillo Islands, the seaboard of Camarines Norte, the northern seaboard of Camarines Sur, and the northern and eastern seaboards of Catanduanes. 

Rough seas will prevail over the eastern seaboard of Albay, including Rapu-Rapu Islands, the eastern seaboard of Sorsogon, the seaboard of Zambales, the western seaboard of Bataan, western seaboard of Batangas, western seaboard of Occidental Mindoro, including Lubang Island, the northern and eastern seaboards of Northern Samar, eastern seaboard of Eastern Samar including Homonhon Island, eastern seaboard of Dinagat Islands, eastern seaboard of Surigao del Norte including Siargao and Bucas Grande Islands, eastern seaboard of Surigao del Sur, and the eastern seaboard of Davao Oriental. 

Sea travel is risky over these waters, especially for small sea vessels, PAGASA said. (PNA)

Leave a Reply