NCR, 8 other areas under GCQ for March — Roque

NCR, 8 other areas under GCQ for March — Roque

Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque

MANILA — The National Capital Region or Metro Manila is in for another full month under general community quarantine classification along with eight other areas Malacañang said Saturday.

This was announced by Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque saying that the government is keeping Metro Manila, Apayao, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Batangas, Tacloban City, Iligan City, Davao City, and Lanao del Sur under GCQ for the whole month of March.

Areas or regions not mentioned above are placed under the laxest quarantine regime — modified GCQ.

Roque added that the Covid-19 task force initially recommended to President Rodrigo Duterte to place the entire country under MGCQ, but this was rejected by the chief executive.

As a matter of playing it safe, the President reportedly favors placing the country under MGCQ if and when anti-Covid vaccines are available.

Initial delivery of the 600,000 doses of Sinovac vaccines from China is due tomorrow, Sunday, 28 February 2021, and on the following day, and Roque said the rollout of which may commence on the following day Monday, 01 March 2021.

Experts and the World Health Organization have warned that the Philippines may see a surge in cases should there be a further relaxation of restrictions.

The Department of Health has been reporting daily average cases of around 1,600 new since November and faces the threat of new, more infectious variants of the coronavirus from the United Kingdom.

The DOH also confirmed the detection of two mutations of the virus that causes COVID-19, but their public health implications are still unknown.

PH is the second-worst hit country in Southeast Asia of the COVID-10 outbreak in Southeast Asia, with over 570,000 cases and over 12,000 deaths. (AI/MTVN)

Leave a Reply