6 barangays in Cagayan get P20M each

6 barangays in Cagayan get P20M each

By Glen S. Ramos
TUGUEGARAO City, Cagayan – The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) has allotted Php20 million in development projects each to six (6) barangays declared free of communist influence.

These are barangays Apayao and Villa Reyno in Piat town, barangays Liwan, Annurtutu, and Minanga in Rizal town, and barangay Balanni in Sto. Nino, all in Cagayan as a support for being cleared from the influence of the CPP-NPA-NDF (Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army-National Democratic Fund).
According to DILG Cagayan Provincial Director Rupert Maribbay, the financial support is under the Barangay Development Program (BDP) and will be used to finance development projects intended to make the lives of the residents of the communities easier under the whole-of-nation approach to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (ELCAC) program of the government.

“The barangay beneficiaries have been cleared of communist influence from 2016-2019 and are now ready for the government’s package of development projects.”

“We have already prepared the community. They have finished their training and they are done with their Barangay Development Plans (BDP) and this will serve as basis in identifying projects for funding by the DBM,” he added.

The projects under the BDP were determined through multi-stakeholder, multi-sectoral consultations, needs assessment studies, and close cooperation with the local government units.

The BDPs were vetted through stringent measures and the implementation of the BDPs will be through the LGUs and the regional offices of the national government offices.
Among the specific projects that were identified are improvement and expansion of farm-to-market roads, provision of water systems, solar dryers, farm sheds, livelihood projects, additional electric posts, and construction of health stations and schools, among others.

Maribbay assured that the DILG will monitor the implementation and progress of the said projects.

The said budget is expected for release this year as documents required were completed and already submitted to the Department of Budget and Management (DBM).

Aside from the six barangays, there are 21 other barangays in the province from the towns of Allacapan, Baggao, Gonzaga, Lal-lo, Lasam, Rizal, Sto. Nino, and Santa Ana who will soon receive funding support for peace and development-related projects after assessment by concerned agencies. (AI/MTVN)

Leave a Reply