NCR back to GCQ

NCR back to GCQ

Sec. Harry Roque

By Junex Doronio
Sept. 6, 2021

MANILA — Saying that President Rodrigo Duterte has approved “in principle” the proposed granular lockdown scheme, Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque on Monday announced the revert of the National Capital Region (NCR) to general community quarantine (GCQ) from September 8 to 30.

Roque also clarified that the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has yet to come up with specific guidelines for its implementation of the granular lockdown.

He admitted that the imposition of Enhanced Community Quarantine was not effective in bringing down Covid-19 infections, which was why experts pushed for “systematic and scientific lockdowns.”

Areas that will be under modified enhanced community quarantine from September 8 to 30 are Apayao, Bataan, Bulacan, Cavite, Lucena City, Rizal, Laguna, Iloilo Province, Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro City.

Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte, Cagayan, Quezon, Batangas, Naga City, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz City, Cebu Province, Lapu-Lapu City, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Sur, Misamis Oriental, Davao City, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental, and Butuan City will be placed under GCQ “with heightened restrictions.”

Baguio City, Kalinga, Abra, Benguet, Dagupan City, City of Santiago, Quirino, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Tarlac, Occidental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Aklan, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Cebu City, Mandaue City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, and Zamboanga del Norte will be under GCQ, as well as Misamis Occidental, Iligan City, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, Gen. Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the country will be on modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).

Leave a Reply