Alden Richards wins Best Actor in the 36th PMPC Star Awards for Movies virtual edition

Alden Richards wins Best Actor in the 36th PMPC Star Awards for Movies virtual edition

MANILA—Kapuso heartthrob Alden Richards was proclaimed Best Actor in the recently successful 36th virtual presentation of the Philippine Movie Press Club(PMPC) Star Award for Movies. Alden was awarded the Star Awards trophy for his performance in the film “Hello, Love Goodbye” while Sylvia Sanchez won the Best Actress award for her role in Jesusa.

The Movie Supporting Actor of the Year was Ricky Davao for his role in the film  Fuccbois while Maricel Laxa named Movie Supporting Actress of the year for her role as Kathryn’s mother in Hello, Love, Goodbye. 

The film Mindanao of Centerstage Production won the best Indie Movie of the Year and Hello, Love, Goodbye was hailed as Movie of the year. Kathryn Bernardo and  Alden Richards was the Movie Loveteam of the Year. 

Movie of the Year

The entire PMPC board and members headed by  its president Roldan Castro express its thanks to Film Development Council of the Philippines, Wemsap, Director  Pete Mariano, hosts Alfred Vargas and  Sanya Lopez and the performers Jed Madela, Luke Mejares and Regine Velasquez- Alcasid. 

The following are the winners in the 36th Star Awards For Movies: 

Movie of the year—“Hello, Love, Goodbye” (Star Cinema)

Movie Director of the year—Cathy Garcia-Molina (Hello, Love, Goodbye)    

Indie Movie of the year—“Mindanao” (Center Stage Productions)             

Indie Movie director of the year—Brillante Mendoza (Mindanao)               

Movie Actor of The Year—Alden Richards (Hello, Love, Goodbye)              

Movie Actress of the year—Sylvia Sanchez (Jesusa)     

Movie Supporting Actor —-Ricky Davao (Fuccbois)       

Movie Supporting Actress

Maricel Laxa (Hello, Love, Goodbye)

New Movie Actor of the year—David Licauco (Because I Love You), tied with Paolo Marcoleta (Guerrero Dos, Tuloy Ang Laban)       

New Movie Actress of the year—Michelle Dee (Because I Love You)       

Movie Child Performer of the year––Xia Vigor (Miracle In Cell No. 7)              

Movie Ensemble Acting of the year—The cast of “Miracle In Cell No. 7”  — headed by Aga Muhlach

Indie Movie Ensemble Acting of the year—The cast of “John Denver Trending” – headed by Jansen Magpusao

 Short movie of the year—-“Forever” (Adlibs Entertainment Corp., Institute of the Moving Image, Bandido Media Productions) 

Short Movie Director of the year-Domingo Molina (Forever)       


Movie Screenwriter Of the Year— Cathy Garcia-Molina, Carmi Raymundo, Rona Co (Hello, Love, Goodbye)

Movie Cinematographer Of the Year—Noel Teehankee (Nuuk)

Movie Editor Of the Year—Vanessa De Leon (Write About Love)  

Movie Production Designer Of the Year—Maria Rowella Talusig (Quezon’s Game)                                            

Movie Musical Scorer Of the Year—-Pat Lasaten (LSS)                          

Movie Sound Engineer Of the Year—Albert Michael Idioma and Alex Tomboc (Maria)

Movie Original Theme Song Of the year—“Araw-Araw” (LSS) Composed and arranged by Ben & Ben,               interpreted by Ben & Ben


Indie Movie Screenwriter Of The Year—Arden Rod Condez (John Denver Trending)

Indie Movie Cinematographer Of the Year—Tey Clamor (Metamorphosis)                                                                                                                 

Indie Movie Editor Of the Year—Benjo Ferrer (John Denver Trending)

Indie Movie Production Designer Of The Year

Brillante Mendoza (Mindanao)

Indie Movie Musical Scorer of the Year—Teresa Barrozo (Mindanao)     

Indie Movie Sound Engineer of the Year— Fatima Nerrika Salim and Immanuel Verona (Babae At Baril) 

Indie Movie Original Theme Song of the year

“Walang Katulad” (Immaculada); Lyrics by Arlyn Dela Cruz-Bernal; Music by Elizabeth Oropesa, arranged by Karl Ramirez with Earlmond Ross Lee, interpreted by Ima Castro

Special awards:

Ms. Angie Ferro – recipient of Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Achievement Award

Director Elwood Perez – recipient of Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera Lifetime Achievement Award

Darling of the press—-Joed Serrano

Movie Loveteam of the Year

Movie Loveteam of the year—Kathryn Bernardo and Alden Richards (Hello, Love Goodbye)

Leave a Reply