Leni-Kiko, Ping-Tito tandems share 5 common senatorial bets

Leni-Kiko, Ping-Tito tandems share 5 common senatorial bets

Sen. Kiko Pangilinan and VP Leni Robredo

By Junex Doronio

October 15, 2021

LAPU-LAPU CITY, Cebu – They could be tagged as the “Lucky 5” as Senators Dick Gordon, Joel Villanueva, Migz Zubiri, former Senator Chiz Escudero and former Vice President Jojo Binay are the common senatorial candidates of the tandems of Vice President Leni Robredo and Senator Kiko Pangilinan and of Senator Ping Lacson and Senate President Tito Sotto.

As common senatorial bets, they have the advantage of winning the 12-slot Senate for the 2022 polls.

Running under the Leni-Kiko tandem, Senator Leila de Lima, former Senator Antonio Trillanes IV, former Congressman Teddy Baguilat, human rights lawyer Chel Diokno and civic leader Alex Lacson will have to slug it out for the remaining seven seats at the Upper House with the senatorial bets of the Ping-Tito tandem, namely: Antique Rep. Loren Legarda, former Senator Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito, former Senator Gringo Honasan, former Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista, Senator Sherwin Gatchalian, Former Makati Rep. Monsour del Rosario, former Agriculture Secretary Manny Piñol, Dr. Minguita Padilla, and Powee Capino.

Sotto said that apart from their 14 senatoriables, Sotto also said they will also endorse a “surprise candidate.”

On the other hand, the 11-strong slate of the Leni-Kiko tandem featured strange bedfellows.

“We have one goal, and that is to galvanize change. Iba-ibang pinagdaanan, iba-ibang kasaysayan, pero yung mahalaga, noong nakiusap tayo na magkaisa, ‘yung kahandaan na isantabi ang mga pinagdaanan, nandoon (We have different experiences, history. But what is important is that when I appealed for unity, the readiness to shelve differences was there.),” Robredo said. (ai/mtvn)

Leave a Reply