NCR, 10 LGUs remain at Alert Level 1 amid monkeypox threat

NCR, 10 LGUs remain at Alert Level 1 amid monkeypox threat

Photo courtesy of The

By Junex Doronio
July 30, 2022

MANILA — It seems that paranoia is waning over the novel coronavirus disease (Covid-19) even with one reported case of the sexually-transmitted monkeypox as the Department of Health (DOH) has announced that the National Capital Region (NCR) will remain under Alert Level 1 while 10 more local government units (LGUs) have been de-escalated to the same status from August 1 to 15.

This developed as DOH’s Dr. Beverly Ho revealed that the Philippines recorded its first case of monkeypox—a 31-year-old Filipino who had prior travel to countries with documented monkeypox cases.

On Friday, July 29, the DOH clarified that monkeypox is not like Covid-19 which spreads mostly through the air.

“Investigation of recent monkeypox cases in other non-endemic countries indicate potential transmission through sexual contact. It spreads mostly by intimate sexual contact with those who have rashes or open lesions,” Ho bared.

On Saturday, July 30, the DOH said in a statement that the 10 local government units are Barbaza Antique, Bato and Tabontabon in Leyte, Payao in Zamboanga Sibugay, Braulio E. Dujali in Davao del Norte, Maitum in Sarangani, Pilar in Surigao del Norte, and Calongas, Marogong, and Tagoloan II in Lanao del Norte.

They reportedly maintained their case classification and bed utilization rates to low risk and reached the vaccination thresholds for the target population and the senior citizen priority group population.

Also placed under Alert Level 1 are Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City, Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City, Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, and Olongapo City, Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Lucena City, Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Puerto Princesa City, Albay, Catanduanes, Naga City, Sorsogon.

Visayans also rejoicec as areas under Alert Level 1 are Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo Province, Bacolod City, Iloilo City, Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, and Tacloban City. (ai/mtvn)

Leave a Reply