LP vows to return to power

LP vows to return to power

By Junex Doronio
October 1, 2022

MANILA — Despite its humiliating loss in the 2019 and 2022 elections, the once powerful Liberal Party has imagined itself like a Phoenix as veteran lawmaker and Albay 1st District Rep. Edcel Lagman who has been elected as the new LP president vowed to stage a political comebacj in 2025.

“Babalik tayo (We will come back),” Lagman boomed during the National Executive Council Meeting of the party held on Friday, September 30, at the Club Filipino in San Juan City.

“As your president, I am not ready to incant the requiem of the Liberal Party,” the 80-year-old Bicolano lawmaker said. “I assume the presidency to lift up the Liberal Party from the ashes of the May 2022 elections.”

Defeated presidential candidate former Vice President Leni Gerona-Robredo, who ran as an independent in the recently-concluded polls, was booted out of LP and was replaced by former senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan as chairman.

Even if she dropped the LP Robredo was Pangilinan’s running mate in the May 2022 national elections.

However, the husband of megastar Sharon Cuneta lost his vice presidential bid to erstwhile Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte who won landslide with 32 million votes.

Other elected LP officers were former Quezon City 3rd district Rep. Christopher “Kit” Belmonte, who was attending the event virtually, as vice chairman of the party, former Quezon province 4th district Rep. Lorenzo “Erin” Tañada III as the executive vice president, former Ifugao Rep. Teddy Baguilat as secretary-general, and Oriental Mindoro Rep. Alfonso “Boy” Umali is the party’s new treasurer.(ai/mtvn)

Leave a Reply