GMA 7, Kapamilya stars big winners in 35th Star Awards for Television

GMA 7, Kapamilya stars big winners in 35th Star Awards for Television

MANILA — The Star Awards for Television once again set the trend for this year’s entertainment awards and events.

Organized by the Philippine Movie Press Club, Inc. (PMPC) together with JAMSAP Entertainment Corporation as producer, the 35th edition honored the boob tube’s best of the best for 2020-2021 on January 28, 2023.

A well-attended and star-studded event, TV’s well-loved celebrities in Aiko Melendez, John Estrada, and Pops Fernandez showed their mettle as award hosts for the first time.

Asia’s Nightingale Lani Misalucha set the upbeat mood of the night as she took center stage for the opening number while the Jamsap talents and other surprise guests did their special numbers.

Meanwhile, Kris Lawrence, Joaquin Garcia, and JV Decena honored the lifetime achievement awardees with a tribute number while Ms. Kuh Ledesma’s finale number sealed another memorable PMPC awards night.

Also lending their star power for the show were power tandems Donny Pangilinan and Belle Mariano and Kelvin Miranda and Mikee Quintos who received the German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year.

Senator Raffy Tulfo and veteran TV host Connie Angeles were on hand to receive the Excellence in Broadcasting Lifetime Achievement Award and the Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award, respectively.

The 35th Star Awards edition is led by PMPC President Fernan de Guzman and Vice President Rodel Fernando along with the club’s officers and members with the support of JAMSAP’s CEO Jojo Flores and COO Maricar Moina under the direction of Frank Lloyd Mamaril.

The iconic Winford Hotel Manila provided the venue for the first face-to-face showbiz event of the year.

Here is the official list of winners:

BEST TV STATION – GMA 7; BEST PRIMETIME TV SERIES – Huwag Kang Mangamba (A2Z/TV5); BEST DAYTIME DRAMA SERIES -Primadonnas (GMA 7); BEST DRAMA MINI SERIES (tie) – Agimat Ng Agila / GMA 7 -He’s Into Her (A2Z); BEST DRAMA ANTHOLOGY- Magpakailanman (GMA 7);

BEST DRAMA ACTRESS – Jodi Sta Maria (Ang Sa Iyo Ay Akin/TV5, A2Z); BEST DRAMA ACTOR – JM de Guzman (Init Sa Magdamag/A2Z, TV5); BEST DRAMA SUPPORTING ACTRESS – Sylvia Sanchez (Huwag Kang Mangamba/A2Z, TV 5); BEST DRAMA SUPPORTING ACTOR -John Estrada (Babawiin Ang Lahat/GMA 7);

BEST SINGLE PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS – Jennylyn Mercado (Sa Kamay ng Fake Healer/Magpakailanman/GMA 7); BEST SINGLE PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR (tie) – Arjo Atayde (Doctor Hero/Maalaala Mo Kaya /A2Z, TV5); – Joshua Garcia (Life’s Sketch/Maalaala Mo Kaya/A2Z);

BEST NEW MALE TV PERSONALITY (tie) – L.A. Santos (Ang Sa Iyo Ay Akin/ A2Z, TV 5); Renshie de Guzman (Huwag Kang Mangamba/A2Z, TV 5); BEST NEW FEMALE TV PERSONALITY – Catriona Gray (Sunday Noontime Live/TV5);

BEST PUBLIC SERVICE PROGRAM – Wish Ko Lang (GMA 7); BEST PUBLIC SERVICE PROGRAM HOST – Edinell Calvario (Healing Galing/UNTV 37); BEST COMEDY SHOW – Pepito Manaloto (GMA 7) BEST COMEDY ACTOR – Paolo Contis (Bubble Gang/GMA 7) BEST COMEDY ACTRESS – Manilyn Reynes (Pepito Manaloto/GMA 7); BEST HORROR/FANTASY PROGRAM – Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko (GMA 7);

BEST MUSICAL VARIETY SHOW – Letters and Music (Net 25); BEST VARIETY SHOW – All-Out Sundays (GMA 7); BEST FEMALE TV HOST – Kim Chiu (It’s Showtime/A2Z, TV5); BEST MALE TV HOST – Paolo Ballesteros (Eat Bulaga/GMA 7); BEST EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM – Born To Be Wild (GMA 7); BEST EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM HOST- Kara David (Pinas Sarap/GTV);

BEST CELEBRITY TALK SHOW – Magandang Buhay (A2Z, TV5); BEST CELEBRITY TALK SHOW HOST – Jolina Magdangal, Karla Estrada, Melai Cantiveros (Magandang Buhay/A2Z, TV 5); BEST DOCUMENTARY PROGRAM – I-Witness (GMA).

(Sourced online/Amado Inigo/MTVN)

Leave a Reply