Getting splendid plays from its formidable quartet, Barangay Ginebra narrowly defeated a determined San Miguel team in overtime, 19-17, to claim the PBA 3×3 First Conference Season 3 crown at Ayala Mall Manila Bay.

Donald Gumaru, contributing eight points in total, sealed the victory for the Kings with a game-winning shot, securing the P100,000 prize money in an intense showdown.

Kim Aurin displayed an impressive all-around performance with five points, five rebounds, and five assists, notably setting up Gumaru for the decisive shot. Ralph Cu and Raphael Salcedo also made crucial contributions, adding four and two points respectively, completing the scoring for the Kings. Kirk Collier served as their coach.

Interestingly, all four Ginebra players are also part of the team’s roster in the ongoing PBA On Tour.

In the semifinals, the Kings narrowly edged out the Terrafirma Dyip with a score of 17-13.

Meanwhile, the San Miguel Beermen suffered a heartbreaking loss after previously securing surprising victories against the grand slam champion TNT and the second-seeded Cavitex, earning their spot in the finals.

Marvin Lee stood out in the quarterfinals, delivering an explosive performance of 15 points as the Beermen ousted the Triple Giga with a final score of 22-14. Ken Bono dominated the paint in the semis, finishing with nine points and 11 rebounds, leading San Miguel to an 18-10 victory over Cavitex and securing their spot in the championship game.

The Beermen received a runner-up purse of P50,000.

In the battle for third place, Cavitex defeated Terrafirma with a final score of 21-15. Ken Ighalo led the way for Cavitex with eight points, while Tonino Gonzaga added six, helping the team secure the P30,000 prize.

Earlier in the quarterfinals, the Braves eliminated Meralco with a 21-17 victory, Terrafirma denied newcomer Wilcon Depot a spot in the semifinals with a close 20-18 win, and Ginebra triumphed over Pioneer Elastoseal with a final score of 19-16, propelling them to the next round.

Final scores:

Third place:

Cavitex (21) – Ighalo 8, Gonzaga 6, Napoles 5, Fajardo 2.

Terrafirma (15) – Rios 9, Cachuela 2, Duremdes 2, Tan 2.


Barangay Ginebra (19) – Gumaru 8, Aurin 5, Cu 4, Salcedo 2.

San Miguel (17) – Bono 8, Saldua 4, Lee 3, Apacible 2.