The film “Family Matters,” which was part of the lineup for the 2022 Metro Manila Film Festival, emerged as the dominant force at the 2023 Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards, securing four prestigious accolades, including the coveted Best Picture award, during the gala held on Sunday.

Directed by Nuel Naval, this impactful drama garnered recognition in multiple categories.

Noel Trinidad clinched the Best Actor award for his exceptional performance, while Nikki Valdez’s impressive acting earned her the title of Best Supporting Actress.

The film’s editing prowess, skillfully executed by Beng Bandong, was acknowledged with the Best Editing award.

In another noteworthy achievement, “Blue Room,” a standout entry from the Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival, clinched three awards.

Ma-an Asuncion-Dagñalan was honored as the Best Director, Neil Daza’s outstanding cinematography earned him the Best Cinematography award, and Mikey Amistoso and Jazz Nicolas were celebrated for their exceptional musical score, winning the Best Musical Score accolade.

Nadine snares 2nd FAMAS Best Actress award

Meanwhile, the remarkable talents of Nadine Lustre shone once again as she secured her second FAMAS Best Actress award. This time, she was honored for her remarkable role in “Greed.” Her first win in this category was in 2019 for her performance in “Never Not Love You.”

“Reroute” also commanded significant attention, clinching the Best Sound Design award, while Sid Lucero’s compelling portrayal earned him the Best Supporting Actor award.

“Leonor Will Never Die,” which made its world premiere at the prestigious 2022 Sundance Film Festival, received due recognition for its exceptional Production Design, securing the Best Production Design award. Additionally, “La Traidora” was commended for its outstanding screenplay, earning the film the Best Screenplay accolade.

The FAMAS Awards also showcased a series of special honors:

Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Lito Lapid
Susan Roces Celebrity Award: Liza Lorena
Dr. Jose R. Perez Memorial Award: Jun Urbano
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award: Jillian Ward
FAMAS Lifetime Achievement Award: Marita Zobel
FAMAS Exemplary Award in Public Service: Martin Romualdez
Most Outstanding Public Service Award: PM Vargas